Recession tip #2: Inflate the value of worthless stuff!

My fondness of literature, trinkets, and lucrative business ventures have somehow amalgamated into the idea that is significantobjects.com, a site in my head asks what worth is the story attached to an object.
The premise: A random cheap/worthless object (bought from a thrift store or something like that) gains worth via ebay because the importance of that object has been transformed through a story written by an author on significantobjects.com.
There’s a part of me that thinks this is 1) stupid. And another part that thinks it’s 2) ingenious. And another part that wishes 3) I thought of it first.
1) The stupid thinking: I think it’s stupid that anyone would pay more for an object that was positioned to be in a story than they would if they saw it in a thrift store.
2) I think it’s ingenious because I would readily assume that people would pay more for a seemingly worthless object just because it was part of a story written by a novelist.
3) Since I can see the potential value of this, and the people buying (I would assume) already know the procedure (that these objects were part of a story written for this purpose) no one is hurt or intentionally duped, and I would have been credited with finding a clever way of adding monetary value to almost anything.

My fondness of literature, trinkets, and lucrative business ventures have somehow amalgamated into the idea that is significantobjects.com, a site in my head asks what worth is the story attached to an object.

This cup's value will inflate

This cup's value will inflate.

The premise: A random cheap/worthless object (bought from a thrift store or something like that) gains worth via ebay because the importance of that object has been transformed through a story written by an author on significantobjects.com.

There’s a part of me that thinks this is 1) stupid. And another part that thinks it’s 2) ingenious. And another part that wishes 3) I thought of it first.

1) The stupid thinking: it’s stupid that anyone would pay more for an object that was positioned to be in a story than they would if they saw it in a thrift store.

2) I think it’s ingenious because I would readily assume that people would pay more for a seemingly worthless object just because it was part of a story written by a novelist.

3) Since I can see the potential value of this, and the people buying (I would assume) already know the procedure (that these objects were part of a story written for this purpose) no one is hurt or intentionally duped, and I would have been credited with finding a clever way of adding monetary value to almost anything.

Would love to stay and continue this post, but I need to see if I can sign up to be a writer…

One thought on “Recession tip #2: Inflate the value of worthless stuff!

Your thoughts...

