When your advertising looks like it’s from the 70’s, why go anywhere else?

Beaumont.

Their advertising (particularly outdoor), makes me uncomfortable.

For instance. From a previous campaign, this was their creative for outdoor boards throughout Detroit:

While this image may seem calming at first, it also makes me think about heaven. And the last place I’d like to think about heaven (as the only known way of getting there is death) is at a hospital. Don’t make me think that death is a possibility if you’re advertising your hospital to me. I’m a little curious as to why no one at the agency/marketing team that developed this campaign didn’t raise this point before it was seen by the client, let alone trafficked out of the agency.

So anyways, I’m driving down I-94, and on an outdoor board I see this guy who looks like he’s from a 70’s sitcom with the statement: “When it’s your heart, why go anywhere else?”

My initial observations: 1) That doctor looks like he was taken out of a stock photo from the 70’s. 2) That font looks like the standard font used primarily in the 70’s. 3) The agency mistakenly trafficked out creative that was from the 70’s.

After seeing this, I can only have the following guesses about who this message targets and the objective of this creative.

Possible prospect target: Older people. Seniors. Anyone who would see this font, photo quality, and overall look/feel and have an enamored reaction.

Possible objectives: 1) Make seniors feel comfortable that the physicians/medical teams at this health system understood the patient because they are from the same era of the patient. The physicians and medical staff use vernacular like “davenport” and “chifforobe” to describe furniture. They don’t use things like the internet or social media. 2) Break through the clutter of other medical advertising by using antiquated imagery, fonts and sound effects.

I’m honestly inclined to believe the latter.

Your thoughts...

