How will Google Glass change advertising?

Advertising is changing regardless of Google Glass or innovations like it.

However, having a wearable smart device capable of knowing everything you do/see/hear and (having information on those three things in addition to emails/tweets/communications) quite possibly feel means that ads will be much more tailored, and seemingly invasive.

Google Glass could change how individuals want information about the world around them. This change of expectation will influence how advertising may change.

Google Glass could change how individuals want information about the world around them. This change of expectation will influence how advertising may change.

The answer to the question “How will Google Glass change advertising”, is a question that I as an advertising professional would go about answering by asking this question: “If I had Google Glass, how would I easily find services/products/people so that my life is improved?”. If I’m traveling in a new city and wanted to find the cheapest vegan options, it would be useful to see vegan restaurants pop up in real life via Google Glass with a indication of how much they typically charge. It would be useful if I were walking down a street and was able to see if other people were interested in the same things I was, and where the nearest bar that served Fruli was located.

Unfortunately, I’m going to have to wait to see how Google Glass will completely change my life as I really don’t care to drop $1500 for a trial. I am, however, looking forward to the feedback of those who did.

 

Your thoughts...

